Home What's New Links Contact Ned Kelly Awards


Marele Day

Marele Day's four book Claudia Valentine series has become a minor classic in Australian crime writing, but her Lambs of God (1998) was even more highly acclaimed as an original and provocative literary work, published in the US by Riverhead and in the UK by Sceptre. Her most recent novel was Mrs Cook, a fictionalised account of the wife of Captain Cook. Marele lives on the New South Wales North Coast.

The Claudia Valentine series
A private investigator series featuring Sydney-based Claudia Valentine, I would consider this one of Australia's strongest private detective series with a wonderful sense of place captured as part of a stirring narrative.

To get more details, the dustjacket summary plus my own review, click on the titles.
The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender (1988) The Last Tango of Dolores Delgado (1992)
The Case of the Chinese Boxes (1990) The Disappearances of Madalena Grimaldi (1994)

The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender : Mark Bannister, writing 'the bestseller of the century' is found dead at his computer - the victim of a murder so perfect that Claudia Valentine smells a rat... and wants it caught.

The chase leads deep into the murky underworld of Sydney - a world where bright, tough Claudia must play a deadly high-tech game of cat and rat with the menacing overlord of the city's cancerous network of crime and corruption.

Witty, wryly humorous and fast-paced, The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender is a mystery with a twist, which brilliantly exposes the seamy action below the surface of the city's glittering facade.

The Last Tango of Dolores Delgado : Claudia Valentine is back! Claudia Valentine, Australia's spunkiest female private eye returns - in her most exhilirating adventure.

Being a minder for Dolores Delgado was no trouble at all for Claudia. Dolores slept all morning, shopped all afternoon and danced all night. Hanging out with this exotic and beautiful creature was fun as much as work.

Then, things got complicated. Dolores dropped dead. On stage. With barely a mark on her perfect body. Claudia had never lost a client before. Let alone one who was also a friend. This was not going to be good for business.

Claudia's investigation leads her into a steamy world of passion and intrigue, of death and double crosses, of romance and revenge. And finally to the truth hidden beneath the layers of dazzling deception.

The Disappearances of Madalena Grimaldi : Claudia Valentines PI returns - gutsy and glamorous as ever...

It is the start of a long, hot summer and Madalena Grimaldi has disappeared. Claudia is hired to find the missing schoolgirl but she's already working on a case - the death of Guy Valentine, her father.

As Claudia searches the streets, looking for the ghost of her derelict father and for the mysterious man who can lead her to Madalena, she finds herself sinking into a world where, for many, rock bottom is only the beginning.

free hit counter
Free Hit Counter